Skip to content

>"Because I understand how science works."

May 31, 2010

>

Vaccines or no vaccines, my children will not die of whooping cough, diptheria, tetanus, mumps, rubella. They will not go deaf or become infertile from measles. They will also not develop autism. Because I have protected them, by avoiding all vaccines.

And I am proud of that fact. Because I understand how science works. And I am grateful to the people who warned me and got me looking into the science before I had kids.

                          —   commentator on Julie O’s strawman masterpiece 

I understand how little most people understand about the human body. I get just how bad, on average, our high school science education is for most folks. It isn’t really surprising, with such piss-poor understanding of the scientific method, and with crappy specific information on the human body, the immune system, chemistry, etc. that folks so routinely butcher information. This comment might take the cake, though. I know, I know, AoA routinely puts crazy posts on by its most favored commentators that have me regularly scratching my head, but the idea that this person has saved her kid from all these infectious diseases by avoiding vaccines? Really?

I find it fascinating that she’s proud of her ignorance that she casts as knowledge: because she understands. Umm, I think we can all resoundingly agree that no, no she doesn’t.

On a related note, David Gorski breaks down Obradovic’s piece with regular Gorskian eloquence today over at Science Based Medicine. Angela much more concisely argued Obradovic’s piece, as well. I’d simply point out that another concise argument to Obradovic’s post is the Dunning-Kruger Effect.

8 Comments
  1. May 31, 2010 4:01 pm

    >Vaccines or no vaccines, my children will not die of whooping cough,Good luck with that, lady. Your "understanding of science" isn't accepted by the diseases.Check out this news report from California:The higher Marin numbers reflect a statewide phenomenon. According to the California Department of Public Health, 346 pertussis cases were reported in California from Jan. 1 to April 30, up from 129 cases during the same period last year.Statewide, four newborns have died from whooping cough – two in Los Angeles County and two in the Central Valley. …"The last big outbreak of pertussis cases was in 2005…In 2005, pertussis killed eight California infants.And:Infants, the elderly and those with weakened immune systems are most at risk. According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, more than half of infants less than 1 year old who get the disease must be hospitalized. About one in 10 children with pertussis get pneumonia, and about one in 250 people who become infected develop a brain disorder called encephalopathy. The disease causes an estimated 10 to 20 deaths each year in the United States.andMarin has one of the state's highest rates of personal belief exemptions, parental waivers that allow children to enroll in kindergarten without receiving vaccinations against diseases such as measles, polio or whooping cough.In 2009, 7.1 percent of the Marin students entering kindergarten avoided immunization because their parents claimed a personal belief exemption, Goel said. Statewide, only 2 percent of kindergartners used the exemption to avoid vaccination last year, she said. In 1999, less than 2 percent of Marin kindergartners opted out of vaccinations.

  2. May 31, 2010 4:13 pm

    >I'm more of a Vaccines CAN BE a trigger not the cause type of thinker. So I have to agree she is miseducated. However I greatly believe in triggers.. whether they be environmental or through Vaccines so I often see both sides of the debate. But the sole cause… um no.

  3. May 31, 2010 4:36 pm

    >AoJ, I'm afraid that I have to disagree with the existence of 'both sides of the debate'. As has oft been emphasised before, science isn't decided by democracy. The 'vaccines cause autism', or even 'can' cause autism are more aligned with the belief systems of religion, not the de rigours of the scientific method.

  4. May 31, 2010 5:03 pm

    >Nicely done Kim!(And thanks for the link to my snarky post lol)Just a note-your link to DAvid Gorski's post actually directs to AoA

  5. May 31, 2010 5:05 pm

    >Thanks,I fixed the link. 🙂

  6. May 31, 2010 5:59 pm

    >Idiot mom says something stupid… her kid dies from Chickenpox…news at 11

  7. May 31, 2010 7:58 pm

    >You know in the case of AoA..it is easier to kill a person(i.e. not vaxxing) than it is to kill the idea (i.e. vax equals causation)

  8. May 31, 2010 9:01 pm

    >AoJ, I think the one thing that there is NOT sufficient evidence to rule out is that autistics may have a higher rate of adverse reactions to vaccines. I would expect that such a reaction would worsen symptoms of autism, simply by stress. This would be quite distinct from actual causation.

Comments are closed.

