Skip to content

>An In-Depth Autism Blog Directory

May 18, 2010

>The Hub is off its hiatus with new, anonymous admins and a much streamlined bloglist from what it originally had.   Bloggers who want on the list will need to apply again if they didn’t make the first cut.

I do not believe that the goals of community and communication can be achieved by a blog list that is exclusive, with the decision-making process shrouded in mystery.

Parents and individuals with autism should have an easy and quick way to access autism-related blogs that are inclusive of a variety of view points.

I have created a new blog that I hope will do this. It is Autism Blogs Directory. I used the blogs on my blogroll and I added in the blogs of others whose views I personally disagree with. It isn’t about ideology. It isn’t about philosophy. It’s about community and equal access.

If you’re not listed on the blogroll, please comment here or there and let me know what your url is and I will add it. If you feel your blog would best be served under a particular label, as I will be breaking the blogs into divisions, please let me know that, too. If you know of other blogs that should be on there, please let me know that, too.

Thank you for helping me to build an inclusive Autism Blogs Directory. I appreciate it.

14 Comments
  1. May 18, 2010 9:01 pm

    >Hi, I looked through your list and I didn't see Kristina Chew's blog… I think it would be an important one to add. Thank you.

  2. May 18, 2010 9:11 pm

    >Thanks; it's over there, both the We Go With Him and the Causes blog posts, under parents blogs.

  3. May 18, 2010 9:12 pm

    >Wow..I'm finally part of the "in crowd" thanks Kim! 🙂

  4. May 18, 2010 9:20 pm

    >I didn't think you were suppose to agree with everyone.I find the autismo link much more interesting than the Hub one ever was.Will check out your page and see if there's something new that interests me to put in my Reader. Thx.

  5. May 18, 2010 9:57 pm

    >:-)

  6. May 18, 2010 10:27 pm

    >Joeker,I appreciate you taking the time to comment, but the one thing I will not allow on my blogs is allegations concerning other people, regardless of the veracity (as I can not ascertain it), so I'm deleting your post.

  7. May 19, 2010 12:59 am

    >Kwombles,please add my http://www.vaccineswork.blogspot.com to the same place as respectful insolence. ThanksSheldon

  8. May 19, 2010 1:21 am

    >Done.

  9. May 19, 2010 2:35 am

    >I have never gone over to Autismo, but I must admit I am still put off by what I see as a problem with too many Hub bloggers.I found too many blogs in the old hub leaned too heavily to high functioning Aspies blogging mostly about the plusses of autism.As someone who can neither see most of the positives autism,and thinks the antivaxers are about as sane or rational as Glenn Beck,I don't think either side has a monopoly on the truth.We need to all work together to find a new direction,and a better way.People change,people grow.There is no way that I can continue to cast my lot with a group so anti-science,and anti-logic as the antivaxers.They are no better than Creationists who claim the universe is only six thousand years old.

  10. May 19, 2010 5:10 am

    >Thanks for including me, Kim. 🙂

  11. May 19, 2010 1:29 pm

    >You can put mine down…it isn't all autism all the time, but I do talk about it.

  12. May 19, 2010 1:33 pm

    >Done!

  13. May 20, 2010 2:11 am

    >thank you for the inclusion…our life just happens to have autism/Asperger's in it…just like I have black hair and my son has blonde…just part of life. I really try to stay out of the debates, sometimes it's enough just to get to school on time, ya know? And that is huge for us.

  14. May 20, 2010 11:13 am

    >Osh,yes, I suspect that's how many of us feel; autism is another facet. Inclusion on the list signifies only that you've a blog that is autism-related; no need to get involved in a debate, and it doesn't matter what you think the cause is.Community building is Kathleen's and my goal; providing a directory with a diversity of blogs for interested individuals is one way of beginning that process.It isn't about arguing or choosing sides. It's about seeing what things we share and building on those.

Comments are closed.

