Skip to content

>The Bright Boy Shines

December 11, 2009

>

The bright boy had an art showing at the center he attends. He was so proud of his work. And he should be. One of his pieces will hang framed for a year at City Hall.
Art is something he’s come to late. The stacks and stacks of coloring books I bought for him as a little boy were finally used up by his sisters a decade later. The girls are voluminous in their consumption of paper and crayons. The bright boy not so much. Like writing, art is tremendous effort and work. It doesn’t come easy. It doesn’t come quick, and each piece he’s done I still have. Over 20 years (come the 15th), and it would all fit into two small boxes. The girls would have filled several 8 by 10 sheds if I hadn’t long ago started letting their art go. They go through 500 pages of printer paper a week. The boy would still be on his first one from 15 plus years ago. Seriously.
Days like these, where I get to see the work my son has done, see him shine, proud of his work, these are good days.
That’s him at the far left; all the artists whose work was displayed were lined up to receive handshakes and compliments.
5 Comments
  1. December 11, 2009 10:22 pm

    >Beautiful pictures, Kim. Your son must be very proud of his work and his accomplishment. Wish I lived closer so I could go to your city hall and see them in real life.

  2. December 11, 2009 10:27 pm

    >Thank you, Dawn. It was a great day for him today. 🙂

  3. December 12, 2009 12:22 am

    >I love the tree…and the picture of him. I've said it before..I know where he gets that gleam in his eye.:) He is bursting in that photo. He does shine…and shine…

  4. December 12, 2009 1:37 am

    >Terrific! Please give my congrats to your artist.My 7-year old is an artist, too. He goes through a ream of paper every 2 – 3 days. Literally. So get ready.

  5. December 12, 2009 11:48 am

    >They are terrific! I like the use of colors. What an honor, to hang for a year at city hall! Yeah!

Comments are closed.

