Skip to content

>Paul Offit explains the money side of the rotavirus vaccine he worked on

September 7, 2009

>In an email correspondence with David Brown August 18, 2009, Dr. Paul Offit writes:

David,


CHOP sold its patent for $182 million. This information was made publicly


available and was published in the Philadelphia Inquirer at the time. The


inventors, Fred Clark, Stan Plotkin, and me split 10 percent of that three


ways. This means that we each received about $6 million. It was a ridiculous


amont of money and certainly far more than any of us needs, but it is also a


far cry from what has been claimed.



But the part that hurts the most is the continued claim that we did this for


the money. I don’t know any scientist who does it for the money (you certainly

don’t make much in salary). You do it because it’s fun and because you think


you can contribute. And the reward for creating a vaccine was also never


financial. The reward was watching this vaccine dramatically reduce the


incidence of rotavirus hospitalizations in the US and now getting to watch the


vaccine enter the developing world in countries like Mali, Bangladesh, Vietnam,

Ghana, and Nicaragua. That’s why we did it.


It hurts to watch people slander me the way they do. They just don’t know me.


Or any of us that work so hard to get a technology like the rotavirus vaccine


to the countries where it will save the most lives.




Paul

Reprinted with permission from David Brown and Dr. Paul Offit.

See David’s site here: http://evilpossum.weebly.com/

Tomorrow: David’s article “Parents cause SIDS?? Cross-examining an Age of Autism ‘scare’ story”

9 Comments
  1. September 7, 2009 2:27 pm

    >Dr. Offit has explained this many times, in many places…even though, it really is nobody's business.If you read Autism's False Prophets, you are told this in the first chapter of his book.What this man and his family has been put through by people who disagree with him is horrible. Let us see how AoA spins this !!!

  2. September 7, 2009 3:29 pm

    >Thanks for posting this Kim. I for one am thankful to Dr. Offit and his colleagues-what an achievement. The very sad fact is that because of this vaccine-we in this country have seen a reduction of rotovirus hospitalizations..so therfore, because of magical thinking on the part of some-(Handley for one)it is not considered a threat to us..if it is not a threat, well then it must be unneccessary..and if it is unneccessary, well then the motive behind it must be money. Not very rational nor scientific this magical thinking..and in the case of AoA, very very dangerous. AoA has an agenda-they are commited to the belief that vaccines cause autism. Nothing is going to change that. When presented with scientific evidence to the contrary-do they counter with their own scientific evidence? They can't (unless of course they tout "the 14 studies" which anyone with a 10th grade science education can poke gaping holes through)AoA panders to emotion..all of these parents screaming about the tens of thousands of dollars spent "recovering" their children..and Dr. Offit has the nerve to make six million dollars! Not only that-he was paid this money by the evil big pharma that caused their childrens autism in the first place. They don't look at his credentials as a man of science, they don't look at his years of research and study, they don't look at his education..they look at his wallet. These same people who look to Jenny McCarthy ( a woman who has probably made that same amount or even more by farting on television) for advice on vaccinating their children.That (pardon my language) is balls to to the floor fucking outrageous! So Dr. Offit, if you are reading this-Thank you. Thank you from my kids. I am truly sorry for the slander and misinformation that has been directed towards you. Maybe one day the people behind this smear campaign will come to their senses. I wouldn't however, hold my breath.

  3. September 7, 2009 4:49 pm

    >Well hells bells Miss Kim! When Thelma told me ya done rounded up a bunch a dumbasses she wadn't kiddin. I'ma thinkin I'ma gonna put my own special touch on this one. Already familiar with tha Handley dumbass..What in tha hell is wrong with them folks at age a fools? They all need them a good whup in tha head-thats for true!

  4. September 7, 2009 7:15 pm

    >"farting on teleivision" LOLIt's not as if folks who peddle various "treatments" are not making huge quantities of money themselves.These folks are rolling in dough charging like 40,000 bucks or even more.Makes no sense…Also just because folks don't agree with vaccinations, doesn't mean they should harass a guy who for the most part seems to want to help prevent deadly diseases.

  5. September 7, 2009 10:35 pm

    >I spoke to Dr. Offit at legnth, after I read his book. I called his office, told him who I was on his voice mail…this was on a Friday…he returned my call by Monday.He was very polite and answered every question I had for him. He was not hateful or demeaning. I enjoyed our conversation.People have judged him without ever meeting him..that to me, is just ridiculous and petty.But, I really do not expect anything less over at AoA.Now, they must not be selling their wares too well, or they would not feel the need to point an arrow towards the products…just sayin' !!

  6. September 7, 2009 11:38 pm

    >Thanks for feedback, look forward to further discussion.Regarding AoA's sponsor, I have several articles about that up at "evil possum". Something I would caution against is making too much about financial issues. It's obviously fitting, but I don't see it accomplishing much. Plus, I have long been convinced that most scientific fraud is committed for reasons other than material gain.

  7. September 8, 2009 3:41 am

    >The more I think about this, the more it pisses me off…Why does Dr. Offit have to explain his finances to any one?Does Dr. Wakefield, Dr. Haley, Dr. Hyman, Dr. Carley, Dr. Krigsman, Dr. Jepson, Dr. Goldberg, or any other DAMN! Dr. have to tell us how much they made from parent's who really cannot afford them make?I would question their motives well before I questioned Dr. Offit's…who, according to them…has NEVER been the doctor to an autistic child !!!

  8. September 8, 2009 11:15 am

    >Agreed, Jeanette.That those who peddle their wares and promise their cures get no critical examination from the AoAers but plugged and celebrated says so much. Offit's defense of vaccines and science makes them howl with rage. Suggestions that their cures are woo enrage them.This isn't about the kids. It's about them. It's about martyrdom and woe. It's about one-upping everyone else. It's a look at me and look at what I've been through and what I've given up and sacrificed. It is, in short, parenting at some of its worst.I'm not talking about everyone over there, so it should not be read that I am, but if AoA loyalists read this and for a moment suspend some of that rage and bitterness and CRITICALLY examine the differences (forget the hatred of all things Orac), maybe they can admit that for a site that promises: "The Age of Autism will be wide-open and transparent in its reporting and commentary on causes and treatments; I am beholden to no individual, organization or fixed point of view. My commitment is to in-depth reporting."My ass it does.

  9. September 14, 2009 12:25 am

    >David,thanks a lot for posting this. The misinformation really bothers me.I have linked to your post here:http://leftbrainrightbrain.co.uk/?p=3051The $6M figure was easily estimated using information publicly available to Misters Olmsted and Blaxill at the time of writing their post. Somehow instead of searching the CHOP website they spent most of their time searching for policies from other universities.before publishing my piece I pointed out to Misters Olmsted and Blaxill that their information was incorrect and that this was quite easily confirmed.They declined.

Comments are closed.

