Skip to content

>Catching up with autism related blogs

August 16, 2009

>It’s been an interesting week out there. Just wanted to share a few things I’ve run across that struck me as worth mentioning.

I read at least three people put forth the idea or back it that the rate of ASDs is 1 in 10. Huh.

Then I read that if autism was genetic, it would be 100 percent. Sigh.

I also keep reading folks who thoroughly distort what the idea of neurodiversity is. To be fair, perhaps there are those on the fringe who say what these anti-NDs contend. But to paint everyone who believes in the idea of neurodiversity and treating people with respect and dignity as these anti-NDs do is just beyond black and white thinking. They are rather rigid folks; apparently if you don’t agree lockstep with them, you are polar opposite of them. Either-or kinds of people.

So, not folks I guess who will want to gather hands and sing kumbaya as the woo figting warrrior princesses play various musical instruments (perhaps some well, for sure some badly) and do a woo fighting warrior princess dance. Damn. We could have had popcorn, too.

4 Comments
  1. August 17, 2009 5:17 pm

    >It cuts both ways y'know.The ND belief autism is 100% genetic is just as nutty as saying it can be cured by chelation.

  2. August 17, 2009 5:29 pm

    >People with autism have rigid, black and white thinking. It's one of the cognitive deficits associated with autism.My rigid thinking used to be even worse but I'm trying to overcome the rigidity and be accepting of all things and opinions, but autism makes it more difficult.I'm much better than I used to be, though.

  3. August 17, 2009 5:47 pm

    >Roger,No researcher, scientist, medical practitioner, etc. worth his/her weight would ever suggest that autism is entirely genetic. Primarily genetic, perhaps. But not entirely.See my post on the mythical, magical neurodiversity movement as to the idea of this monolithic movement you seem to be arguing exists.

  4. August 17, 2009 6:05 pm

    >Stephanie,I wasn't writing specifically about autistic people who identify themselves as anti-ND. I was speaking of the parents of ASD children who identify themselves as anti-ND. I recognize that rigidity of thought is one of the congitive differences (I have three children who are on the spectrum and display a literalness of mind and a lack of understanding of shades of gray). If you're contending that said parents who demonstrate that rigidity are on the broader autism phenotype, thereby arguing that there is a rather large genetic component to autism, you'd have my agreement. :-)Being accepting of other opinions is a good thing, but even that can go too far. Discernment of the relative value and ethics in different positions would seem like a better, more nuanced goal.Let me give you an example of why all opinions are not automatically ethically equal. Your latest blog post is on unfair, inaccurate and unkind treatment you have received from a poster. You rebut it quite capably in your blog post. You then receive and post comments in support of you. You then, also, receive and publish a comment that does the same thing to me that has been done to you. You didn't have to let that attack and distortion go through, and I believe you when you say you've not approved any more of them, but you've still let that attack stand when you could delete it from your blog. A double standard is when one dislikes how one is treated but then either engages in the same behavior or allows that behavior to be engaged in by another. By posting that particular comment, you engaged in behavior that looks suspiciously like a double standard. Does that make sense?I'm glad you are doing better, and it has been very interesting to read your blog over the last several months and watch as you have grown and developed. I look forward to reading more of your posts in the future, and I hope that you will find a way to accomplish the goals you have.I hope you'll come back to comment in the future. 🙂

Comments are closed.

